Part 1 of my Introductory Lecture on Bourdieu

A while back I took the liberty of recording on a Dictaphone my first ever lecture. I attached the recording to a video composed of the lecture’s slides. I uploaded it to YouTube and recently it went over 10,000 views. Now I know that the viewcount is seriously flawed – people only have to watch a short period of a video before it counts as a view, but I have noticed in the stats that some people have watched it in its entirety.

As it is my first lecture there are a few ahhs and amms and I say ‘such that’ for some reason way too much – I don’t believe I use the phrase in everyday conversation. Also it was done during cold and flu season there is also the problem of the background coughing, which my Dictaphone picked up way too clearly.

For part 2 I forgot to turn on the voice-recorder but I have been meaning to piece the second part together. Perhaps I’ll sit down over Christmas and get it sorted.

Anyway this is my first time linking to the lecture on this blog. I feel it makes for a useful introduction for newcomers to Bourdieu whose work can so easily remain convoluted and abstract if it’s not grounded in illustrative examples from the world of the everyday:

8 thoughts on “Part 1 of my Introductory Lecture on Bourdieu

  1. Just watched this. I got my BA in Sociology back in 2010 and needed a refresher as I start my PhD program in Anthropology. Great stuff, and it was very useful in explaining in more simple terms what my old Sociology Theory textbook had written down. I’m looking at Bourdieu as a theoretical framework on household archaeology – have saved your lecture on youtube so I can refer back to it when necessary!

    Also want to make a general comment on how beautiful your dissertation is formatted. Easy on the eyes. Magical. A nice site after some of the other dissertations I’ve been looking at recently!

  2. I’ve watched it in it’s entirety as well… did better than any other lecturer/article/book at explaining it. Thank you immensely. You also have a pleasant tone which makes it that much more enjoyable. I am craving the 2nd lecture………..

  3. Thanks for the comment. I have been asked a few times now and keep putting it off for various procrastinating reasons. But seeing as you asked so nicely I should get around to it soon within the next two weeks. Good luck with applying Bourdieu in your theoretical framework. I used him as my central theorist for my own thesis. I think he’s particularly good for excavating the subtle nuances of power in everyday settings.

    • Hi, Yes, I’d really like to here the next lecture in the series as well. I find your use of examples help me understand. I’m studying education in Sydney, Australia. It would be great if you could please tell us where to find it.

      Thanks

  4. Hi there, I have just started a PhD in Australia and I am looking at Bourdieu as a theoretical framework. I’d just like to say I am one of those who have watched the first lecture in its entirety (a few times actually) and I found it extremely useful. Thank you very much! If there is any chance you could throw together a video of the next part on cultural capital that would be really terrific and I’m sure it would get a lot of views.

    P.S. I particularly liked the analogy about the Roisin Dubh! I have family in Galway and whenever I’m there I spend half my time hanging out there and have made many friends

Leave a Reply

